Lessons she taught me

11 Sep

My Dad once told me: “There is always something you can learn from anyone, no matter younger or older, directly, or indirectly.”

I never really understood what he meant until my cousin from half way around the world came to visit me.

My cousin was a small, young little girl. Who, unlike me, was very annoying, very daring, and very forceful. Ladies and gentlemen, have you ever been bullied by a girl, half your size, 10 years younger than you? I have…

At the theme park, my cousin, unlike other young little girls who enjoyed riding ferries wheels, merry go rounds, or any other slow, cute and  safe rides, always wanted to ride the most thrilling rides in the theme park. She will always want to ride the fastest rides, the highest rides, the rides where most screams can be heard.

As she went to measure her height, I would always be hoping, wishing and praying that she will not reach the minimum required height… but somehow, she would always, always, be walking back happily with a big smile on her face saying: “I’m tall enough, let’s go!”

“Did you know, every year there are, 12 deaths and 6,500 injuries caused from roller coaster rides?”

“Oh don’t be such a woosey! Come on let’s go!” as she dragged me on the ride…

After lots of screaming, crying, and finally vomiting… somehow, I survived…

Next on her agenda was swimming, yet again something I wasn’t good at.

My cousin really loved swimming. She could swim like a fish and I could sink like a brick. I couldn’t swim, but was forced to accompany her into the pool… I could barely stand in the pool where she swimming and treading around happily. I always stayed at the side and she would always swim over and attempt to pull me to the middle of the pool. To me the side was safe, the side is good, the side had land. As she attempted to pull me, I would hang on to the side for my dear life…

“Did you know, every year there are about, 5000 people who drown in swimming pools?”

“Oh don’t be such a woosey! Come on!”

The more I resisted, the more she would insisted. Her voice was like a lion’s roar and can be heard at the other end of the pool. If I did not do as she pleases, we will become the center of attraction. Imagine how bad would that look, a girl 10 years younger than me forcing me to the middle of the pool.

Normally, it would be the reverse… and so I did as she pleased…

After drinking gallons of water with my nose and mouth… Somehow, I survived…

As we headed back to the hotel, my cousin wanted some ice cream.

I walked up to counter, and asked, hi sir, can I have an ice cream cone?

My cousin looked at me with her huge round hazel eyes and said you forgot the magic word… “please”

Ice cream booth waiter: “That will be RM6.90”

Me: “Thank you. Can I have some tissues?”

My cousin beside me: “please”

Me: “Can I have some tissues, please?”

My cousin was 10 years younger than me and teaching me manners.

That night when we returned to our hotel, she continued to disturb me, annoy me and forced me to do things that I didn’t want to. Finally she dozed off on my bed.

My young cousin, may be a huge disturbance, very annoying and very forceful, but she definitely directly or indirectly, taught me a thing or two about life.

From the roller coaster experience, she taught be to be braver and to dare to try new things, at least once. I must admit the ride was pretty awesome.

In the swimming pool, she made me learn some basic swimming skills… so now whenever she pulled me to the middle of the pool, at least I had the ability to swim back to the side.

My cousin was 10 years younger than me, but reminded me on manners which I constantly forget. The magic word, “please”

There is always something you can learn from anyone, not matter younger or older, directly, or indirectly. The next time you meet someone younger, be sure to look out for what you can learn.

Dad I finally understood what you meant!

One Response to “Lessons she taught me”

  1. Angel Lim September 11, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Education is learning what you did not even know you did not know.

    Humility is able to learn from those younger than you.

    Good keep up the good behaviour – the wise said.

Leave a comment